Recommended By Independent Booksellers

If we do not have a title in the format you seek, suggest a purchase or donate a copy!

Orhan's Inheritance

by Aline Ohanesian
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
APRIL 2015 INDIE NEXT LIST #1 GREAT READ “Breathtaking and expansive . . . A tender, powerful story of love and reclamation.

The Witch of Painted Sorrows

by M. J. Rose
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
Possession. Power. Passion. "New York Times "bestselling novelist M.

At the Water's Edge

by Sara Gruen
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
In this thrilling new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a gripping and poignant love story about a privileged young woman’s awakening as she experiences the devastation of World War II in a tiny village in the Scottish Highlands. After disgracing themselves at a high society New Year’s Eve party in Philadelphia in 1944, Madeline Hyde and her husband, Ellis, are cut off financially by his father, a former army colonel who is already ashamed of his son’s inability to serve in the war. When Ellis and his best friend, Hank, decide that the only way to regain the Colonel’s favor is to succeed where the Colonel very publicly failed—by hunting down the famous Loch Ness monster—Maddie reluctantly follows them across the Atlantic, leaving her sheltered world behind.

World Gone by

by Dennis Lehane
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
Dennis Lehane, the New York Times bestselling author of The Given Day and Live by Night, returns with a psychologically and morally complex novel of blood, crime, passion, and vengeance, set in Cuba and Ybor City, Florida, during World War II, in which Joe Coughlin must confront the cost of his criminal past and present. Ten years have passed since Joe Coughlin's enemies killed his wife and destroyed his empire, and much has changed. Prohibition is dead, the world is at war again, and Joe's son, Tomas, is growing up. Now, the former crime kingpin works as a consigliore to the Bartolo crime family, traveling between Tampa and Cuba, his wife's homeland.

What Comes Next and How to Like It

by Abigail Thomas
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
From the bestselling author of "A Three Dog Life," which "shines with honest intelligence" (Elizabeth Gilbert): a fresh, exhilarating, superbly written memoir about aging, family, creativity, tragedy, friendship, and the richness of life. What comes next. What comes after the devastating loss of Abigail's husband, a process both sudden and slow. What form does her lifelong platonic friendship take after a certain line is crossed.

Between You & Me

by Mary Norris
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
Mary Norris has spent more than three decades guarding The New Yorker s grand traditions of grammar and usage, and she has been hailed by John McPhee as the verbal diagnostician I would turn to for a first, second, or third opinion on just about anything. Now she brings her vast experience and sharpened pencil to help the rest of us in a charming language book as full of life as it is of practical advice. Between You & Me features Norris s laugh-out-loud exhortations about exclamation marks and emoticons, comma faults and curse words; her memorable exchanges about usage with writers such as Ian Frazier, Pauline Kael, Philip Roth, and George Saunders; and her loving meditations on the most important tools of the trade. Readers and writers will find in Norris neither a scold nor a softie but a wise new friend in love with language.

Hausfrau

by Jill Alexander Essbaum
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
ONE OF THE HUFFINGTON POST’S MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2015 For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.   Hausfrau haus·frau \haus-frau\ n 1: Origin: German. Housewife, homemaker. 2: A married woman.

Inside the O'Briens

by Lisa Genova
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
From the "New York Times" bestselling author of "Still Alice" Lisa Genova comes a powerful and transcendent new novel about a family struggling with the impact of Huntington's disease. Joe O'Brien is a forty-four-year-old police officer from the Irish Catholic neighborhood of Charlestown, Massachusetts. A devoted husband, proud father of four children in their twenties, and respected officer, Joe begins experiencing bouts of disorganized thinking, uncharacteristic temper outbursts, and strange, involuntary movements. He initially attributes these episodes to the stress of his job, but as these symptoms worsen, he agrees to see a neurologist and is handed a diagnosis that will change his and his family's lives forever: Huntington's Disease.

A Desperate Fortune

by Susanna Kearsley
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
Beloved New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley delivers a riveting novel that deftly intertwines the tales of two women, divided by centuries and forever changed by a clash of love and fate. For nearly three hundred years, the cryptic journal of Mary Dundas has kept its secrets. Now, amateur codebreaker Sara Thomas travels to Paris to crack the cipher. Jacobite exile Mary Dundas is filled with longing-for freedom, for adventure, for the family she lost.

After Birth

by Elisa Albert
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook