Recommended By Independent Booksellers

If we do not have a title in the format you seek, suggest a purchase or donate a copy!

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

by Christopher Scotton
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
After witnessing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, 14-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods. The events of this fateful summer will affect the entire town of Medgar, Kentucky. Medgar is beset by a massive Mountaintop Removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back filling the hollows.

Descent

by Tim Johnston
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
“A riveting literary thriller of the can't-stop-turning-the-page, stay-up-all-night variety. ” —Alice LaPlante, author of A Circle of Wives The Rocky Mountains have cast their spell over the Courtlands, a family from the plains taking a last summer vacation before their daughter begins college. For eighteen-year-old Caitlin, the mountains loom as the ultimate test of her runner’s heart, while her parents hope that so much beauty, so much grandeur, will somehow repair a damaged marriage. But when Caitlin and her younger brother, Sean, go out for an early morning run and only Sean returns, the mountains become as terrifying as they are majestic, as suddenly this family find themselves living the kind of nightmare they've only read about in headlines or seen on TV.

The Girl on the Train

by Paula Hawkins
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
“The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . .

The Magician's Lie

by Greer Macallister
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook

Vanessa and Her Sister

by Priya Parmar
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group.   London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of bright, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group.

The Rosie Effect

by Graeme Simsion
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
The highly anticipated sequel to the "New York Times" bestselling novel "The Rosie Project," starring the same extraordinary couple now living in New York and unexpectedly expecting their first child. Get ready to fall in love all over again. Don Tillman and Rosie Jarman are back. The Wife Project is complete, and Don and Rosie are happily married and living in New York.

The Bishop's Wife

by Mette Ivie Harrison
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
In the predominantly Mormon city of Draper, Utah, some seemingly perfect families have deadly secrets. Linda Wallheim is a devout Mormon, the mother of five boys and the wife of a bishop. But Linda is increasingly troubled by her church’s structure and secrecy, especially as a disturbing situation takes shape in her ward. One cold winter night, a young wife and mother named Carrie Helm disappears, leaving behind everything she owns.

Almost Famous Women

by Megan Mayhew Bergman
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook

The Shock of the Fall

by Nathan Filer
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
***This book has also been published as Where the Moon Isn't. ***Winner of the 2013 Costa First Novel Award "A stunning novel. Ambitious and exquisitely realized . .

The First Bad Man

by Miranda July
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
From the acclaimed filmmaker, artist, and bestselling author of "No One Belongs Here More Than You," a spectacular debut novel that is so heartbreaking, so dirty, so tender, so funny--so Miranda July--that readers will be blown away. Here is Cheryl, a tightly-wound, vulnerable woman who lives alone, with a perpetual lump in her throat. She is haunted by a baby boy she met when she was six, who sometimes recurs as other people's babies. Cheryl is also obsessed with Phillip, a philandering board member at the women's self-defense nonprofit where she works.