The Library is closed Monday, May 25th in observance of Memorial Day.

Recommended By Independent Booksellers

If we do not have a title in the format you seek, suggest a purchase or donate a copy!

The Light of the World

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
A deeply resonant "New York Times "Bestselling" "memoir for anyone who has loved and lost, from acclaimed poet and Pulitzer Prize finalist Elizabeth Alexander. In THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD, Elizabeth Alexander finds herself at an existential crossroads after the sudden death of her husband. Channeling her poetic sensibilities into a rich, lucid price, Alexander tells a love story that is, itself, a story of loss. As she reflects on the beauty of her married life, the trauma resulting from her husband's death, and the solace found in caring for her two teenage sons, Alexander universalizes a very personal quest for meaning and acceptance in the wake of loss.

Pieces of My Mother

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
"A story that lingers in the heart long after the last page is turned. " --HOPE EDELMAN, bestselling author of Motherless Daughters and The Possibility of Everything This provocative, poignant memoir of a daughter whose mother left her behind by choice begs the question: Are we destined to make the same mistakes as our parents. One summer, Melissa Cistaro's mother drove off without explanation Devastated, Melissa and her brothers were left to pick up the pieces, always tormented by the thought: Why did their mother abandon them. Thirty-five years later, with children of her own, Melissa finds herself in Olympia, Washington, as her mother is dying.

The Given World

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
A sweeping portrait of post-Vietnam America seen through the eyes of a young woman searching for the courage to go home again. It is 1968. Riley is thirteen, and her brother Mick has gone missing in Vietnam. She struggles to understand and accept, but the world she has always known has fallen apart.

The World Is on Fire

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
The sermons of Joni Tevis youth filled her with dread, a sense that an even worse storyone you hadn t read yetcould likewise come true. In this revelatory collection, she reckons with her childhood fears by exploring the uniquely American fascination with apocalypse. From a haunted widow's wildly expanding mansion, to atomic test sites in the Nevada desert, her settings are often places of destruction and loss. And yet Tevis transforms these eerie destinations into sites of creation as well, uncovering powerful points of connection.

The Daylight Marriage

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
A page-turning exploration of unexpressed love and unnecessary loss. Riveting and heartbreaking. GERALDINE BROOKS, author of "Caleb's Crossing" She still had time before work. She could go food shopping.

Whispering Shadows

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
The first in a suspenseful new trilogy by the internationally bestselling author of "The Art of Hearing Heartbeats," this gripping story follows a retired expat journalist in contemporary China who tries to crack a murder case as he battles his own personal demons. American expat Paul Leibovitz was once an ambitious advisor, dedicated father, and loving husband. But after living for nearly thirty years in Hong Kong, personal tragedy strikes and Paul's marriage unravels in the fallout. Now Paul is living as a recluse on an outlying island of Hong Kong.

The Book of Aron

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
The acclaimed National Book Award finalist one of the United States finest writers, according to Joshua Ferris, full of wit, humanity, and fearless curiosity now gives us a novel that will join the short list of classics about children caught up in the Holocaust. Aron, the narrator, is an engaging if peculiar and unhappy young boy whose family is driven by the German onslaught from the Polish countryside into Warsaw and slowly battered by deprivation, disease, and persecution. He and a handful of boys and girls risk their lives by scuttling around the ghetto to smuggle and trade contraband through the quarantine walls in hopes of keeping their fathers, mothers, brothers, and sisters alive, hunted all the while by blackmailers and by Jewish, Polish, and German police, not to mention the Gestapo. When his family is finally stripped away from him, Aron is rescued by Janusz Korczak, a doctor renowned throughout prewar Europe as an advocate of children's rights who, once the Nazis swept in, was put in charge of the Warsaw orphanage.

Church of Marvels

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
A ravishing first novel set in vibrant, tumultuous turn-of-the-century New York City, where the lives of four outsiders become entwined, bringing irrevocable change to them all New york, 1895. Sylvan Threadgill, a night-soiler cleaning out the privies behind the tenement houses, finds an abandoned newborn baby in the muck. An orphan himself, Sylvan rescues the child, determined to find where she belongs. Odile Church and her beautiful sister, Belle, were raised amid the applause and magical pageantry of the Church of Marvels, their mother's spectacular Coney Island sideshow.

Girl at War

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
For readers of "The Tiger's Wife "and "All the Light We Cannot See" comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood.

The Bone Tree

by
Search for book Search for ebook Search for audiobook
#1 New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles continues the electrifying story he began in his smashing New York Times bestseller Natchez Burning with this highly anticipated second volume in an epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice. Southern prosecutor Penn Cage is caught in the darkest maelstrom of his life. The heartbreaking but seemingly straightforward death of his father's African-American nurse, Viola Turner, has fractured Penn's family and turned Dr. Tom Cage into a fugitive from justice.